Cutting the Cord (Kind of)

One area where I’ve determined I can cut monthly costs is cable (or I should say satellite TV in my case).  I currently spend $95 for DirectTV and have been stuck in a contract for a few years.  However, that contract ends next month, so I can finally start looking at alternatives (goal is to get to around $35/month).  Here is a list of some of these options:

Basic Alternatives (which I have or will be getting):

  • Netflix
  • Redbox
  • HD Antenna – basic channels [3,5,9,68]

Streaming Programming Options:

  • Hulu
  • Roku
  • Apple TV
  • Google TV/Chromecast
  • Sling TV
  • Amazon Fire / Amazon Prime Instant Video

Over the next several weeks I will be looking into the pros and cons of each of these providers of streaming media/video.

Things that will factor in the final decision:

  • Price (noted above)
  • I watch a lot of sports (mainly what I watch on TV) including ESPN, MSG, etc.
  • My son watches a lot of Nick Jr., Disney Jr., etc.
  • My wife only has a few shows on ABC she watches, along with the occasional TLC show

The first one I will look at will be Sling TV.  Stay tuned!

Do you use any of these services/providers in place of cable?  If so, what has been your experience?

Leave a Reply

